Recognises an outstanding and demonstrated personal contribution to UK engineering, which results in successful market exploitation, by an engineer with less than 22 years in full-time employment or equivalent (any career breaks will be appropriately considered by the Committee). Up to four medals are awarded each year.

Consideration will be given where an equal contribution has been made by more than one person, in which case, a joint award of two medals may be justified.


Nominations for the Silver Medals are now closed.

All nominations are made via our online system:

Online nominations system



Dr Daniel Elford

CTO, Sonobex

Dr Daniel Elford is Co-Founder and Chief Technology Officer of Sonobex Ltd, a company that is developing acoustic metamaterials to address noise pollution problems. He was awarded an Academy Enterprise Fellowship in 2012, and has raised over £1.2 million in funding for his innovation. He became an Academy Enterprise Hub SME Leader in 2018.

Jennifer Griffiths MBE

Founder and CEO, Snaptech.

Jennifer Griffiths’ innovation, Snap Tech, works with retailers, social media and publishers to help customers quickly find and compare fashion items online. Retailers can use Snap Tech’s ‘Snap Similar’ button to show customers clothes that match the colour or cut of others they have browsed. Publishers can make use of ‘Snap the Look’ to tell readers where to find a whole outfit from a single photo, along with where to find similar outfits.

Professor Paul Newman FREng

Founder and CTO, Oxbotica

Professor Newman, BP Professor of Information Engineering, University of Oxford has been writing autonomous vehicle algorithms for 20 years. Since 1999 he has worked on the core ideas that underpin autonomous vehicles worldwide. His work has been fundamental in enabling the operation of the autonomous sub-sea vehicles that dealt with the Deepwater Horizon oil leak in the Gulf of Mexico. During an Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council Leadership Fellowship, Professor Newman developed the ‘Robotcar’, which in 2013 became the first autonomous vehicle on UK roads, paving the way for future autonomous vehicle operation.

Silver Medal award 2019 - news release


Dr Jade Algalve

Reader, University College London Principle Engineer, Arm Ltd

Dr Jade Algalve has been awarded the Silver Medal for her fundamental work in concurrency, which is widely regarded as one of the most complicated areas of computer science. Her work is conceptually innovative and breathes new life into modelling the behaviour of computer hardware and software.

Dr Iain Scott

Capability Manager, Leonardo MW Ltd

Dr Iain Scott has been awarded the Silver Medal for for his leadership and vision to create Leonardo MW's Vixen-E family of active electronically scanned array airborne radar products, which are now a major UK export success worth hundreds of millions of pounds.

Professor Chris Sutcliffe

University of Liverpool; Research and Development Director, Renishaw

Professor Chris Sutcliffe has been awarded the Silver Medal for his work and inventions within manufacturing/3D Printing over the past 20 years. Which led to the development of the Tritanium implant technology produced by laser and electron beam powder-bed fusion.

Silver Medal award 2018 - news release