Dr Dame Sue Ion DBE FREng

Awarded in recognition of her outstanding service to the nuclear industry, the Academy itself and to the wider world of engineering.

2014 President's Medal news release


Terry Hill CBE FREng

Chair of Arup’s Board of Trustees

The award was made in recognition of his significant and far-reaching contribution to the sector. He has supported UK engineering around the world and helped to promote excellence in engineering education.

2013 President's Medal news release



Professor Anthony Kelly CBE DL FREng FRS

Fellow, Churchill College Cambridge

In recognition for his having founded and developed the field of strong solids made from composite materials, now used extensively  in industry. He is widely regarded as the 'Father of Composite Materials'.

2011 President's Medal news release



Sir Alan Rudge CBE FREng FRS

Chairman, The ERA Foundation

Recognising him for his personal contributions as an engineer, as an engineering industrialist through his inspirational and unselfish leadership role in the furtherance of engineering and industry in the UK.



Rolls Royce plc

Rolls-Royce became the first company to receive the President’s Medal for particular initiatives in promoting excellence in engineering.



Sir David Davies CBE FREng FRS                                              

Chairman, The Hazards Forum

In recognition of his consistent promotion of engineering at the highest levels in the UK throughout his distinguished career.

2006 President's Medal news release



Jonathan Ive

Vice-President of Industrial Design at Apple

In recognition of his outstanding achievements in engineering design and in particular in the design of the iPod, which represents the very best of human interface engineering.

2005 President's Medal news release



Jim Eyre

Partner/Director, Wilkinson Eyre Architects



HRH Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh 

Senior Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering



Keith Duckworth OBE 

Life President, Co-founder and past Chairman, Cosworth Engineering Ltd



Sir William Stewart FRS FRSE 

Chief Scientific Adviser, Cabinet Office and Head of the Office of Science and Technology



Lord Phillips of Ellesmere FRS

Chairman of the Advisory Board for the Research Councils

In recognition of his outstanding contribution over many years to the direction of research in science and engineering.



Sir Neil Cossons OBE

Director of the Science Museum



The Rt Hon Lord Lloyd of Kilgerran CBE QC

President, The Foundation for Science and Technology



Lord Sainsbury of Turville HonFREng



Air Marshal Sir Richard Wakeford KCB LVO OBE AFC

Chairman of Trustees, the MacRobert Trusts