Nominations for the 2020 Rooke Award are now closed. 

All nominations are made via our online system: 

Online nominations system

The award is named after past President and Academy Fellow Sir Denis Rooke and is normally awarded to an individual or small team (of no more than five) based in the UK that has supported the Academy's aims and work through their initiative in promoting engineering to the public.



Major Tim Peake CMG

European Space Agency

Astronaut Tim Peake has be announced as this year’s winner of the Royal Academy of Engineering’s prestigious Rooke Award in recognition of his inspirational promotion of engineering and space through the Principia mission’s education programme, the largest and most successful educational campaign supporting a European astronaut mission.

Rooke Award 2019 - news release


Roma Agrawal

Roma Agrawal is the winner of the Rooke Award for her contribution to promoting engineering, particularly to under-represented groups, and helping to change the public perception of engineering. She communicates this to a range of audiences including five-year-olds, retired engineers and more. The impact of her work has also been recognised through the naming of a new building: the Agrawal building.

Rooke Award 2017 - news release