Past Presidents of the Academy with our Royal Fellow, l-r: Lord Broers, Lord Browne, HRH the Duke of Kent, Sir William Barlow, Sir David Davies and Sir Denis Rooke

In its history, the Academy has had nine presidents in total, including the current holder of the office, Sir Jim MacDonald, who was elected in 2019. Each President is elected by the Governing Council to serve a term of usually five years.

Find out more about the Academy's past Presidents:

1976-1981 Lord Hinton of Bankside
1981-1986 Viscount Caldecote
1986-1991 Sir Denis Rooke
1991-1996 Sir William Barlow
1996-2001 Sir David Davies
2001-2006 Lord Broers
2006-2011 Lord Browne
2011-2014 Sir John Parker
2014-2019 Dame Ann Dowling