The Royal Academy of Engineering is pleased to announce that four of the its most prestigious awards and medals are now open for entries until Monday 13 November.

Recognising and rewarding the very best of engineering talent, the Academy’s programme of awards and medals celebrates the contribution engineering makes to the nation’s wealth, health and wellbeing.

The 2018 awards and medals currently open for nomination are:

Celebrating the collaborative nature of engineering, the Major Project Award recognises the achievement of a UK-based team of up to five engineers who have delivered a major engineering project with a substantial impact on society. Last year the award was presented to the engineers behind Scotland’s largest entertainment venue, Arup’s SSE Hydro Arena, in recognition of the nearly decade-long project, and in 2016 to BAE Systems for developing the technology to communicate with the Rosetta spacecraft.

From world-leading health technologies to super-fast fibre optic networks, the Colin Campbell Mitchell Award recognises engineers who have made the greatest contribution to the advancement of any field in the industry over the prior four years. Open to both individuals and teams based in the UK, the award commemorates the life and work of one of Scotland's most accomplished marine engineers and includes a cash prize of £3,000 for an individual or up to £6,000 for a team. Previous winners include Professor Sriram Subramanian and the team behind Ultrahaptics, a new company developing invisible control systems constructed from ultrasound.

Honouring the exceptional work of an engineer of any nationality, the Prince Philip Medal is awarded to those who make an outstanding contribution to engineering through practice, management or education. The medal, which is presented biennially, was last awarded to Dr Jonathan Ingram in 2016 for his work in developing the technology behind Building Information Modelling. Other previous winners include Nobel Prize winner Professor Sir Charles Kao FREng FRS and Lord Browne of Madingley FREng FRS.

Similarly celebrating the work of an individual, the President’s Medal is open for submissions nominating a Fellow of the Academy who has contributed significantly to the Academy’s aims and work through the promotion of excellence in engineering. Former winners include the renowned nuclear engineer Dr Dame Sue Ion DBE FREng, Chair of the judging panel for the MacRobert Award for engineering innovation.

The submission deadline for all four awards is Monday 13 November and all nominations must be made through the Royal Academy of Engineering’s online system.  

Notes for Editors

1.    For more information on the awards and medals run by the Royal Academy of Engineering, visit:

2.    Royal Academy of Engineering. As the UK’s national academy for engineering, we bring together the most successful and talented engineers for a shared purpose: to advance and promote excellence in engineering. We provide analysis and policy support to promote the UK’s role as a great place to do business. We take a lead on engineering education and we invest in the UK’s world-class research base to underpin innovation. We work to improve public awareness and understanding of engineering. We are a national academy with a global outlook.

We have four strategic challenges:
- Make the UK the leading nation for engineering innovation
- Address the engineering skills crisis
- Position engineering at the heart of society
- Lead the profession

For more information please contact: