The Royal Academy of Engineering has elected 50 new Fellows, including three new International Fellows.

The newly elected Fellows represent the cream of the UK engineering profession, including technologists from world-leading engineering companies and distinguished academics from renowned research institutions.

Professor Dame Ann Dowling DBE FREng FRS, President of the Royal Academy of Engineering, said: “The commitment and energy of our Fellows is the lifeblood of our Academy. Our new Fellows join us today as the country’s most innovative and creative minds from both academia and industry. We look forward to working with them, learning from their successes and drawing on their considerable expertise as we continue our work to promote engineering at the heart of society.”

The new Fellows join around 1500 others at the Academy, with new members elected annually to join the Fellowship in recognition of their outstanding contributions to engineering.

The complete list of new Fellows for 2015 is as follows:


Professor Claire Adjiman FREng

Professor of Chemical Engineering, Imperial College London

Chris Allam FREng

Engineering and Programme Management Director, BAE Systems, Military Air and Information

Timothy Burnhope FREng

Chief Innovation & Growth Officer, JCB Group

Professor David Butler FREng

Professor of Water Engineering, University of Exeter

Dr Darwin Caldwell FREng

Director, Advanced Robotics Department, Italian Institute of Technology

Ivor Catto FREng

Independent consultant; formerly Chief Executive Officer, Hyder Consulting plc

Peter Chapman FREng

Barrister and arbitrator

Professor Anthony Cohn FREng

Professor of Automated Reasoning, University of Leeds

Professor Paul Collier FREng

Head, Beams Department, CERN

Professor Bob Cryan CBE DL FREng

Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive Officer, University of Huddersfield

Professor John Daugman OBE FREng

Professor of Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition, University of Cambridge

Professor Rene de Borst FREng

Regius Professor of Civil Engineering and Mechanics, University of Glasgow; Consultant, Dassault Aviation, Paris; John Argyris Visiting Chair, Excellence Cluster for Simulation Technology, University of Stuttgart

Vincent de Rivaz CBE FREng

Chief Executive, EDF Energy

Professor Mohan Edirisinghe FREng

Bonfield Chair of Biomaterials, University College London

Professor Colin Garner FREng

Caterpillar/Royal Academy of Engineering Chair in Applied Thermodynamics, Loughborough University

Richard Goodwin FREng

Managing Director, Goodwin plc

Steven Harridge FREng

Consultant, Tony Gee and Partners LLP

Dr Christopher Haynes OBE FREng

Project Assurance Consultant, KazMinerals plc; Non-Executive Director, Woodside Petroleum Ltd, Perth; Non-Executive Director, WorleyParsons Ltd, Sydney,

Dr Clive Hickman FREng

Chief Executive, Manufacturing Technology Centre (MTC)

Professor Karen Holford FREng FLSW

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Head of College of Physical Sciences and Engineering and Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Cardiff University

Dr Richard Jefferys FREng

Senior Research Engineer, University of Edinburgh; Formerly Director of Strategy and Technology, ConocoPhillips, Alternative Energy

Dr David Knowles FREng

Director, Energy, Atkins

Bernard Looney FREng

Chief Operating Officer, Production, BP plc

Paddy Lowe FREng

Executive Director (Technical), Mercedes-Benz Grand Prix Ltd

Jonathan Lyle FREng

Chief Executive, Defence Science and Technology Laboratory (Dstl)

John Mair FREng

Technology Director, Corporate, Subsea7

Colin Matthews CBE FREng

Chairman, Highways England

Professor Barrie Mecrow FREng

Head of School, School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Newcastle University

Andrew Mitchell CBE FREng

Chief Executive Officer, Thames Tideway Tunnel Ltd

Dr Edward Morton FREng

Chief Technical Officer, Rapiscan Systems Ltd

Professor Robert Parkin FREng

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research and Knowledge Transfer), University of Bradford

John Reece MBE FREng

Chairman, Reece Group; Trustee, Reece Foundation; Trustee, Springfield House Trust

Professor Stephen Roberts FREng

Professor of Machine Learning, University of Oxford

Professor Daniel Rueckert FREng

Professor of Visual Information Processing, Department of Computing, Imperial College London; Consultant, IXICO; Scientific Adviser, Vision RT

Professor Mary Ryan FREng

Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, Imperial College London

Dr Richard  Sadler FREng

Chief Executive Officer, Lloyd's Register Group

Professor Angela Sasse FREng

Professor of Human-Centred Technology and Director of the Science of Cyber Security Research Institute, University College London

Professor Nilay Shah FREng

Professor of Process Systems Engineering, Centre for Process Systems Engineering (CPSE), Department of Chemical Engineering, Imperial College London

Professor Constantinos Stavrinidis FREng

Head, Mechanical Engineering Department, European Space Research and Technology Centre, European Space Agency

Patrick  Thomas FREng

Chairman and Chief Executive, Covestro

Professor Mark Tooley FREng

Head of Medical Physics and Bioengineering, Director of Research and Development. Consultant Clinical Scientist, Royal United Hospitals Bath NHS Foundation Trust, Visiting Professor, Universities of Bath and the West of England

Dr John Tubman FREng

Managing Director, Management Services and Defence, UK, Ireland & Continental Europe, AECOM

Professor Florin Udrea FREng

Professor of Semiconductor Engineering, University of Cambridge; Chief Technology Officer, Cambridge Microelectronics Ltd and Cambridge CMOS Sensors

Professor David White FREng

Shell EMI Chair in Offshore Engineering, University of Western Australia

Ant Wilson FREng 

Director, Sustainability and Advanced Design - Building Engineering, AECOM UK

Professor Michael Wisnom FREng

Professor of Aerospace Structures, University of Bristol; Director, Advanced Composites Centre for Innovation and Science (ACCIS); Director, Rolls-Royce Composites UTC

Professor Hua Zhao FREng

Vice Dean (Research) and Professor of Engineering, College of Engineering, Design and Physical Sciences, Brunel University London

International Fellows

Dr Robert Care AM FREng (Australia)

Principal, ACT and Strategic Geographies Leader, Arup Australasia

Professor Manfred Morari FREng (Switzerland)

Head of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering, ETH Zurich

Professor Scott Sloan FREng FRS (Australia)

Director, ARC Centre of Excellence for Geotechnical Science and Engineering, Newcastle University, Australia

Notes for Editors

  1. Biographies of the new elected Fellows are available online:
    New Fellows' pages

  2. Royal Academy of Engineering. As the UK's national academy for engineering, we bring together the most successful and talented engineers for a shared purpose: to advance and promote excellence in engineering. We provide analysis and policy support to promote the UK's role as a great place to do business. We take a lead on engineering education and we invest in the UK's world-class research base to underpin innovation. We work to improve public awareness and understanding of engineering. We are a national academy with a global outlook. We have four strategic challenges: Drive faster and more balanced economic growth; foster better education and skills; lead the profession; promote engineering at the heart of society.

For more information please contact:

Aaron Boardley at the Royal Academy of Engineering
T: 020 7766 0655
E:  Aaron Boardley