The British team behind the development of Ford’s internationally commended, low fuel consumption 1.0 litre Ecoboost engine has been awarded the Royal Academy of Engineering’s newly established Colin Campbell Mitchell Award, named after one of Scotland’s most accomplished marine engineers.

Thanks to the efforts of the research and development team, based at Ford’s Dunton Technical Centre in Basildon, Essex, the smaller, three-cylinder 1.0 litre Ecoboost engine is able to deliver better performances than traditional 1.6 litre engines with better fuel economy and CO2 emissions 20% lower than conventional engines.

This level of performance combined with its fuel-saving credentials earned the 1.0 litre Ecoboost engine the title of International Engine of the Year for both 2012 and 2013.

The engine is not the result of a simple downsizing, but includes a number of radical technical innovations, covered by over 120 patents, that allowed Ford to overcome the issues other engines of this size and configuration had in the past.

The members of the Ford team receiving the award, including a £6,000 prize, for their great contribution to the advancement of mechanical engineering are Dr Roland Ernst (team leader), Dominic Evans, Steve Johnson, James Saward, Dr Mark Cary and Mike Rowland.

Dame Ann Dowling DBE FREng FRS, President of the Royal Academy of Engineering, said: “The team behind the Ford EcoBoost engine provides an excellent example of how engineering research and ingenuity brings benefits to both society and industry.

“The market success of the Ecoboost engine is not only contributing to a reduction in CO2 emissions globally and helping to meet climate targets, but also highlights the international impact of UK engineering.”

The inaugural Colin Campbell Mitchell Award will be presented to the Ford EcoBoost team by the Academy’s President at the Institution of Mechanical Engineers’ Thomas Hawksley Prestige Lecture on Wednesday 10 December 2014.

Receiving the award, Dr Roland Ernst, Chief Programme Engineer, Powertrain Engineering, Ford Motors said: ”On behalf of the Ford-Team I would like to express delight with this honour.
We all worked very hard to achieve the best and are now thankful for this reception”.

Notes for Editors

  1. Royal Academy of Engineering. As the UK’s national academy for engineering, we bring together the most successful and talented engineers for a shared purpose: to advance and promote excellence in engineering.

    We provide analysis and policy support to promote the UK’s role as a great place  to do business. We take a lead on engineering education and we invest in the UK’s world-class research base to underpin innovation. We work to improve public awareness and understanding of engineering. We are a national academy with a global outlook.

    We have four strategic challenges: Drive faster and more balanced economic growth; foster better education and skills; lead the profession; promote engineering at the heart of society.
  1. Colin Campbell Mitchell Award. Awarded to an individual or team of up to six engineers either working or studying in the UK. It will be awarded for having made the greatest contribution to the advancement of any field of engineering within the period of the four years prior to the making of the award. A cash prize of £3,000 will be awarded to an individual, up to a maximum of £6,000 for a team.

    The Award commemorates the life and work of one of Scotland's most accomplished marine engineers. Edinburgh-born Colin Campbell Mitchell OBE FRSE (1904-69) had a long and distinguished career with Brown Brothers Engineering where he pioneered the development of the steam catapult for use on aircraft carriers.
    Colin Campbell Mitchell Award
  1. The IMechE’s Thomas Hawksley Prestige Lecture will be given this year by Paul Mascarenas, Global Chief Technical Officer for Ford Motor Company.


For more information contact

Giorgio De Faveri at the Royal Academy of Engineering
T: 020 7766 0655
E: Giorgio De Faveri

Related articles