The Academy congratulates the following Fellows who have been recognised in the New Year Honours list:

Order of the British Empire - Commanders of the Order of the British Empire - CBE

Professor Helen Atkinson, University of Leicester, Vice President and trustee of the Royal Academy of Engineering, for services to engineering and education.

David Warren Arthur East, lately Chief Executive, ARM Holdings, for services to the technology industry.

Professor Carole Ann Goble, University of Manchester, for services to science.

Iain Gilmour Gray, Chief Executive Officer, Technology Strategy Board, for services to science, technology and innovation.

Christopher John Mairs, Chief Scientist, Metaswitch Networks, for services to engineering.

David Gogo Waboso, Director, Capital Programmes, London Underground, for services to transport in London.

Nicholas Paul Winser, Executive Director, UK National Grid, for services to the UK energy industry.

Order of the British Empire - Officers of the Order of the British Empire - OBE

Professor Paul Stephen Cannon, lately Director, Poynting Institute, QinetiQ, and University of Birmingham, for services to engineering.

Dr Hamid Ghafour Mughal, Director of Global Manufacturing, Rolls-Royce plc, for services to technology, innovation and manufacturing.

Notes for editors

  1. Royal Academy of Engineering. As the UK's national academy for engineering, we bring together the most successful and talented engineers for a shared purpose: to advance and promote excellence in engineering. We provide analysis and policy support to promote the UK's role as a great place to do business. We take a lead on engineering education and we invest in the UK's world-class research base to underpin innovation. We work to improve public awareness and understanding of engineering. We are a national academy with a global outlook. We have four strategic challenges: Drive faster and more balanced economic growth; foster better education and skills; lead the profession; promote engineering at the heart of society.

For more information please contact:

Giorgio De Faveri at the Royal Academy of Engineering 
Tel: 020 7766 0655
Email:  Giorgio De Faveri

Related articles