June 25th, London: The five engineers who have been leading lights in the creation of the Internet and the World Wide Web  received their award this week from Her Majesty the Queen in front of an audience that included the three leaders of the UK’s main political parties, and members of the Royal Family.

Her Majesty and the winners were also joined by the QEPrize judges and a number of young engineers in a celebration of the Prize and engineering.

Robert Kahn, Vint Cerf and Louis Pouzin were recognised for their contributions to the protocols that make up the fundamental architecture of the Internet, Tim Berners-Lee, for inventing the World Wide Web, and Marc Andreessen, who wrote the Mosaic browser.

The winners each received a trophy designed by 17 year old Jennifer Leggett, who won a national competition that called for young students to come up with a design that captured the essence of modern engineering.

Photos of the award ceremony are  available to download  and the password is QEP

Prime Minister David Cameron said: "This is a fantastic week for innovation, whichis absolutely vital tojobs andgrowthin our economy.Yesterday I met the face of engineering's future in Downing Streetas we launched adrive for 100,000 new engineering apprentices - and today we have the inaugural Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering.

“More than any other time in history our world is being shaped by innovation, new ideas, new technologies and new companies. This is the story of the global economy. People young and old around the world will be inspired by the incredible feats that these menhave achieved - with our very own Sir Tim Berners-Leea shining example of Britain's ability to succeed in the global race."

Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg said: “The first winners of the QEPrize remind us of the power of ideas. Their ground breaking work transformed modern life. Today we recognise and celebrate their achievements - creating and building the Internet and enabling us to explore the World Wide Web. We also send a powerful message to budding and experienced engineers across Britain that if you’ve got the skills and good ideas keep going. In the future, this prize could be yours. The sky’s the limit.”

The Rt Hon Ed Miliband MP, Leader of the Opposition, said: “The Queen Elizabeth Prize has put engineering centre stage and shown the world that the UK is serious about celebrating engineering’s great achievements. The five inaugural winners have achieved great things and it is undoubtedly the case that the internet and World Wide Web have changed the world, connecting billions of people globally. It is important that we now use the Prize to encourage young people into a career in engineering that will enable them to tackle the new global challenges of the future.

The winners commented:

Bob Kahn: “Today has been an incredibly exciting day for engineering. To join all those involved in the award ceremony in this celebration of the QEPrize has been a great pleasure and it has been a privilege to have been a part of it. I would like to thank Her Majesty the Queen and all those involved in the QEPrize, including the Prime Minister and my fellow winners to the young engineers who are working on the exciting projects of the future. I think the QEPrize serves a very important purpose in showing the contributions engineers make to society and I am delighted to be a part of it.”

Vint Cerf: “It was such an honour to receive my award from Her Majesty the Queen at today’s ceremony for the QEPrize for Engineering. It is incredible to be one of the five inaugural winners of what I think is a very important act of recognition for engineers worldwide. The Prize celebrates what engineers can achieve and it was great to meet so many young people at today’s ceremony who are so excited about engineering and the infinite possibilities it holds for the future. “

Louis Pouzin: “I cannot overstate how much being one of the winners of the inaugural QEPrize means to me and to receive my award at Buckingham Palace is very special indeed. The award of this Prize is not only a celebration of our work on the internet and World Wide Web, but also of the incredible collaboration, across different countries and engineering disciplines, that it took for us to achieve our goal. This is just the beginning for the internet, it must keep on changing and evolving, and I hope that the QEPrize will inspire the next generation as to where to take it next.”

Sir Tim Berners-Lee: “It is a great honour to be an inaugural recipient of this prize, and wonderful that we are celebrating Engineering today. While science and maths are exciting too, engineering is about building things, and making things work.

It is great that many young engineers are involved in the events today:

I hope they realize that they should give their imaginations free rein and then learn how to make their imaginings into reality. Maybe among people watching this locally or on the internet will be some future winners of the same prize. I am very grateful for the support of the field

of engineering from Her Majesty the Queen and from all the judges and others involved in making the prize happen.”

Marc Andreessen: “It is a fantastic honour to be awarded the inaugural Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering and to be invited to receive this trophy from Her Majesty the Queen at Buckingham Palace.It is with great pride that I accept this prize and would also like to acknowledge a number of individuals that have contributed enormously to the creation of Mosaic, particularly my co-creator, Eric Bina. Thank you.”

Notes for editors

The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering is a £1million global engineering prize designed to reward and celebrate the individuals responsible for a ground-breaking innovation in engineering that has been of global benefit to humanity. Her Majesty the Queen presented the specially designed trophy at an award ceremony held at Buckingham Palace on 25 June 2013.

For more information please visit:  www.qeprize.org

The winners of the prize were selected by an eminent panel of judges from across the world and worked from information in the nominations, comments from referees and any addition required to establish which nomination most fully met the prize criteria. The  judging panel  for the inaugural cycle comprises: Professor Frances Arnold, Lord Alec Broers (Chair), Professor Brian Cox, Madam Deng Nan, Professor Lynn Gladden, Diane Greene, Professor John Hennessy, Professor Dr Dr h.c. Reinhard Hüttl, Professor Calestous Juma, Professor Hiroshi Komiyama, Dr Dan Mote, Narayana Murthy, Dr Nathan Myhrvold, Professor Choon Fong Shih and Paul Westbury.