The Academy congratulates the following Fellows who have been recognised in the New Year Honours list:

Knights Bachelor – Knighthoods

Professor David Neil Payne CBE – Director, Optoelectronics Research Centre, University of Southampton, for services to photonics research and applications.

Order of Bath as Knight Commander – KCB

Vice Admiral Andrew David Matthews CB – from Military Division, the Royal Navy Awards list.

Order of Bath – Companions of the Order of Bath – CB

Dr Michael William Weightman - Her Majesty’s Chief Nuclear Inspector, Office for Nuclear Regulation, Health and Safety Executive, for services to the improvement of nuclear safety.

Order of the British Empire - Commanders of the Order of the British Empire – CBE

Professor Brian Cantor - Vice-Chancellor, The University of York, for services to education.

Dr David Douglas Cleevely - Founding Director, Centre for Science and Policy, University of Cambridge, for services to technology and innovation.

Professor Richard Holdaway - Director of RAL Space, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, for services to science and technology.

Professor Richard Jonathan Parker - Director of Research and Technology, Rolls-Royce Group, for services to engineering.

Paul Stephen Westbury - Chief Executive Officer, Buro Happold, for services to engineering and construction.

Notes for editors

  1. Founded in 1976, the Royal Academy of Engineering promotes the engineering and technological welfare of the country. Our fellowship – comprising the UK’s most eminent engineers – provides the leadership and expertise for our activities, which focus on the relationships between engineering, technology, and the quality of life. As a national academy, we provide independent and impartial advice to Government; work to secure the next generation of engineers; and provide a voice for Britain’s engineering community.

For more information please contact

Sarah Griffiths at The Royal Academy of Engineering Tel. 020 7766 0655