Congratulations to the following Fellows of the Academy who have been recognised in the New Year Honours list:

Order of the Bath
Companion of the Order of the Bath - CB

Professor Brian Stanley Collins - Chief Scientific Adviser, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills for services.

Order of the British Empire
Commanders of the Order of the British Empire - CBE

Professor John Fisher - Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Deputy Vice-Chancellor, University of Leeds. For services to Biomedical Engineering.

Peter Richard Head OBE - Director, Arup. For services to Civil Engineering and to the Environment.

Order of the British Empire
Officers of the Order of the British Empire - OBE

Professor Christopher Robin Lowe - Professor of Biotechnology, University of Cambridge. For services to Science.

Professor Geoffrey Railton Tomlinson - Professor of Engineering Dynamics, University of Sheffield. For services to Technology.

Order of the British Empire
Member of the Order of the British Empire - MBE

Professor Stuart William Cameron - Chief Engineer, Doosan Babcock. For services to Mechanical Engineering.

Notes for editors

  1. Founded in 1976, The Royal Academy of Engineering promotes the engineering and technological welfare of the country. Our fellowship - comprising the UK's most eminent engineers - provides the leadership and expertise for our activities, which focus on the relationships between engineering, technology, and the quality of life. As a national academy, we provide independent and impartial advice to Government; work to secure the next generation of engineers; and provide a voice for Britain's engineering community.

For more information please contact

Jane Sutton at The Royal Academy of Engineering
Tel. 020 7766 0636; email: Jane Sutton