Fifty three of the UK’s leading engineers have been elected to the Royal Academy of Engineering this year following its AGM in London on 5 July, demonstrating the diversity and pervasiveness of 21st century engineering. Leading industrialists, pioneering inventors and top academics have become Fellows of the UK’s national academy of engineering.

Academy President Lord Browne of Madingley says: “The expertise of our Fellows is a unique national resource. We want to see that expertise brought to bear to bear at a much earlier stage of policy development – to ensure that policy is workable, sustainable and affordable.

“While business itself remains the prime vehicle for wealth creation, government can and must do a lot more to foster the right climate for success. Thanks to our network of Fellows with their unrivalled experience in engineering business and research, we are uniquely well placed to help government understand the needs of business.”

The complete list of new Fellows for 2010 is as follows:


BEAR, Alderman Michael
Managing Director, Balfour Beatty Property Ltd


ATKINSON, Jane Victoria
Vice-President, Utilities Operation, SembCorp Utilities UK Ltd

BALMOND, Cecil Hugh Ignatius
Consultant, Arup Group Ltd

BENN, Jeremy Richard
Chief Executive, Jeremy Benn Associates Ltd

BOOTH, Edmund
Independent Consultant, Earthquake Resistant Design

Chief Engineer – Hawk Engineering Director, Brough, BAE Systems

Engineering Director (EPWG Chair), Performance Excellence, Head Office, BAE Systems

BURKE, Carol Rose
Managing Director, Unipart Manufacturing Group

CAMERON, Stuart William
Chief Engineer, Doosan Babcock

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Director of the George Green Institute for Electromagnetics Research (GGIEMR), University of Nottingham

CILLIERS, Johannes Jacobus Le Roux 
Rio Tinto Professor of Mineral Processing and Director, Rio Tinto Centre for Advanced Mineral Recovery, Department of Earth Science and Engineering, Imperial College London

CIPOLLA, Roberto
Professor of Information Engineering, Cambridge University. Managing Director, Toshiba Cambridge Research Laboratory

COOK, Allan Edward
Chairman, W S Atkins

COOK, Michael John
Director of Buildings, Buro Happold Ltd

DAY, Ivor
Senior Rolls-Royce Research Fellow, Whittle Laboratory, University of Cambridge

DIGBY, Roger Paul
Head of Materials and Processes, Airbus UK

DUBOIS, Edward
Owner, Chief Engineer and Principal Naval Architect at Dubois Naval Architects

DUNNE, Fionn Patrick Edward
Professor of Engineering Science, University of Oxford

EASTON, Murray
Director of Murray & Roberts Limited

GOBLE, Carole Anne
Professor of Computing Science, School of Computer Science, University of Manchester

GOW, David James
Head of Rehabilitation Engineering, NHS Lothian

GRANT, Patrick
Cookson Professor of Materials, Oxford University

HACKITT, Judith Elizabeth
Chair, Health and Safety Executive

HALL, James William
Professor of Earth Systems Engineering, Newcastle University

HOLBOURN, Paul Edwin
Vice President, Capability and CTO, Radar and Advanced Targeting, SELEX Sensors and Airborne Systems Ltd

HOLLIDAY, Steven John
Group Chief Executive, National Grid Plc

HOLT, Nic Peter
Distinguished Engineer and Systems Architect, Fujitsu

HOUNSLOW, Michael John
Pro Vice Chancellor - Engineering, University of Sheffield

Nuclear Safety Consultant. Member of the MoD Defence Nuclear Safety Committee

KEOGH, Patrick Sean
Professor of Machine Systems, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Bath

Robert Sansom Professor of Computer Science, University of Cambridge

LOW, Andrew John
Independent Consultant. formerly Technical Director, Thales UK plc

LUDLAM, Stephen
Managing Director and Chief Executive, Australian Submarine Corporation

MAY, Michael David
Chief Technical Officer, XMOS Ltd and Professor of Computer Science, Bristol University

MUGGLETON, Stephen Howard
Royal Academy of Engineering/Microsoft Chair in Machine Learning, Imperial College London

RAEng Chair in Emerging Technologies and Professor of Tribology and Surface Engineering, School of Mechanical Engineering, University of Leeds

PANTELIDES, Constantinos Christou
Managing Director, PSE Ltd

PERKINS, Matthew
Chief Executive, Surrey Satellite Technology Ltd

PERRY, Nigel J
Chief Executive and Director, Centre for Process Innovation, Teesside

RODGER, Albert Alexander
Vice-Principal and Head of College, College of Physical Sciences, University of Aberdeen

SANSOM, Robert D
Chairman, Cambridge Angels. Director of Azuro Inc, CRFS Ltd, Fetch Inc, Netronome Inc, Short Fuze Inc, Ubisense Ltd

Senior Technology Manager, Edwards Ltd

SHORT, Michael
Vice President, Research and Development, Telefonica Europe/O2

Lorch Professor of Water Sciences and Head of School, School of Applied Sciences, Cranfield University

TAYLOR, Alexander Marionos Kereton
Professor of Fluid Mechanics, Imperial College London

Managing Director, Accenture UK & Ireland

TORERO, Jose Luis
BRE Trust/RAEng Professor of Fire Safety Engineering and Director of BRE Centre for Fire Safety Engineering, University of Edinburgh

TOWNEND, Ian Howard
Research Director, HR Wallingford

TRAVIS, Adrian Robert Leigh
Senior Scientist, Microsoft Corporation

TYLER, Andrew Oliver
Chief Operating Officer, Defence Equipment and Support, Ministry of Defence

WATSON, Jeremy Daniel McKendrick
Chief Scientific Advisor, Department of Communities and Local Government and Research Director, Arup Group Ltd

WEIGHTMAN, Michael William
HM Chief Inspector of Nuclear Installations, Head of the Nuclear Directorate of the Health and Safety Executive

WINSER, Nicholas Paul
Executive Director - Transmission, National Grid PLC

YANG, Guang-Zhong
Director of Imaging & Robotics, Institute of Biomedical Engineering, Head of Visual Information Processing, Department of Computing and Professor in Medical Image Computing, Imperial College London


Executive Consultant, Previously Westinghouse Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer

LANGER, Robert Samuel (USA)
David H Koch Institute Professor at MIT

LEWIN, Gregory Arthur (Australia)
Executive Director of Sapphire Global Pty Ltd. Non-Executive Director, Sasol Pty Ltd

ROWE, Ronald Kerry (Canada)
Vice-Principal (Research) and Professor of Civil Engineering, Queen's University at Kingston, Canada

VEST, Charles (USA)
President Emeritus and Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology and President, US National Academy of Engineering

Professor, Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical Engineering, University of Southern California

Notes for editors

  1. Founded in 1976, The Royal Academy of Engineering promotes the engineering and technological welfare of the country. Our fellowship – comprising the UK’s most eminent engineers – provides the leadership and expertise for our activities, which focus on the relationships between engineering, technology, and the quality of life. As a national academy, we provide independent and impartial advice to Government; work to secure the next generation of engineers; and provide a voice for Britain’s engineering community.

For more information please contact

Jane Sutton at The Royal Academy of Engineering
Tel. 020 7766 0636; email  Jane Sutton