Congratulations to the following Fellows of the Academy who have been recognised in the New Year Honours list:

Order of the British Empire
Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire

Dr Susan Elizabeth Ion, OBE – former Academy Vice President – Visiting Professor, Imperial College, London and Chair, UK Fusion Advisory Board, for services to Science and Engineering.

Order of the British Empire
Commanders of the Order of the British Empire – CBE

Professor Robert James Mair, FRS – Senior Vice President of the Academy – Master of Jesus College and Professor of Geotechnical Engineering, University of Cambridge, for services to Engineering.

David Malcolm Orr – Director of Corporate Services, Department of Finance and Personnel, Northern Ireland Executive.

Adrian Shooter – Chairman, Chiltern Railway Company Ltd, for services to the Rail Industry.

Order of the British Empire
Officers of the Order of the British Empire – OBE

Alexander Beveridge Anderson DL – Chairman of Governors, University of Teesside, for services to the Community in the North East.

Dr Andrew James Herbert – Managing Director, Microsoft Research, Cambridge, for services to Computer Science.

Professor John Alexander McDermid – Head of Department of Computer Science and Professor of Software Engineering, University of York, for services to the Defence Industry.

Notes for editors

  1. Founded in 1976, The Royal Academy of Engineering promotes the engineering and technological welfare of the country. Our fellowship – comprising the UK’s most eminent engineers – provides the leadership and expertise for our activities, which focus on the relationships between engineering, technology, and the quality of life. As a national academy, we provide independent and impartial advice to Government; work to secure the next generation of engineers; and provide a voice for Britain’s engineering community.

For more information please contact

Jane Sutton at The Royal Academy of Engineering

Tel. 020 7766 0636; email: Jane Sutton