The Academy held the first open and democratic election to its governing Council this year. The postal ballot was run by Electoral Reform Services and the following Fellows were elected to Council for three years with effect from the AGM on 7 July 2004:

Mr Robert Benaim FREng: Consulting civil and structural engineer. Elected from Discipline Group 1 – Civil (Civil, structural and municipal engineering)

Professor John Perkins FREng: Vice President and Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences, University of Manchester. Elected from Discipline Group 5 - Process (Chemical, fuel, mining and process engineering)

Professor Ian Poll OBE FREng: Director of Cranfield College of Aeronautics. Elected from Discipline Group 4 – Mechanical (Mechanical, aeronautical, marine and production engineering)

Sir Martin Sweeting OBE FREng FRS: CEO, Surrey Satellite Technology Ltd. Elected from Discipline Group 2 – Electrical (Electrical, electronic and control engineering)

Sir John Taylor OBE FREng FRS: Retired, formerly Director General of Research Councils, Office of Science and Technology. Elected from Discipline Group 3 - Infomatics (Telecommunications, computing and information technology)

View full list of Council Members