Colin Campbell Mitchell Award 2020 - Rules and Conditions 

It will be awarded to an individual or team of up to six engineers either working or studying in the UK for having made the greatest contribution to the advancement of any field of engineering within the period of the four years prior to the making of the award.

The Award will consist of a cash prize of £3,000 will be awarded to an individual, up to a maximum of £6,000 for a team.      

The recipient(s) of the Colin Campbell Mitchell Award will be selected by the Royal Academy of Engineering's Awards Committee.

Submissions must give the following information:

  • Particulars of nominee.
  • Citation of not more than 500 words.
  • A concise curriculum vita of not more than one page should be attached for each individual.
  • Letters of support from two referees should be attached (not including the nominator and at least one from outside the nominee's organisation).

Self-nominations are not accepted, however, if you are interested in this award but do not know of anyone to nominate you please contact the Academy.

Only completed nominations will be considered. Please ensure that the nomination form is complete with CV and letters of support at the time of submission.

Each nominator can submit no more than three nominations in any one year for the award.

Submissions will be accepted from February 2020. 

The Academy is committed to diversity and welcomes nominations and nominees from women and other groups who are currently under-represented across engineering, as well as recognising the full breadth of engineering.

Please direct any queries with respect to your nomination to or telephone 020 7766 0630.