Dr Ruth Misener

Senior Lecturer in Computational Optimisation, Imperial College London

Dr Ruth Misener is currently a lecturer and Royal Academy of Engineering Research Fellow in the Department of Computing at Imperial College London. A chemical engineer by training, Ruth uses her computing-based position to develop innovative approaches to process systems engineering challenges using the latest computer science techniques. This has attracted attention from industrial partners, and two petrochemical companies and one informatics company now have strategic partnerships with Ruth’s research group.

Anna Ploszajski

Materials scientist, engineer and communicator, UCL

After achieving a first class degree in Materials Science at the University of Oxford, Anna Ploszajski became an EngD student at UCL, researching hydrogen storage materials. During her final year at Oxford, Anna and her industrial colleagues at Cella Energy, were awarded a patent for a polymer hydride composite they had developed. She has subsequently represented the company internationally, at conferences and in collaboration with colleagues at NASA.

Chris Shaw

Lead Engineer, Sensible Object

Chris Shaw graduated from the University of Bath in 2014, after studying Mechanical Engineering. He was awarded the David Embleton Innovation Bursary Award by the university for an outstanding Final Year Project with commercialisation potential. He used this bursary to start a company, B3D Technology, developing his final year project into a 3D joystick that makes drones more intuitive to fly. He also secured an InnovateUK grant to develop 3D magnetic sensing technology that resulted in a working prototype joystick flying a drone.

Frank O'Leary

Geotechnical engineer, Arup

Frank is a chartered geotechnical engineer, who uses his academic and practical experience to create innovative solutions for seemingly impossible projects. He currently works at Arup, and is a PhD candidate at University College Dublin, analysing the time-dependent behaviour of retaining walls in clay, which will benefit practicing engineers.

Jenni Sidey

CSA Astronaut, Canadian Space Agency

Dr Jenni Sidey is a lecturer at the University of Cambridge’s Department of Engineering. Following her PhD investigating low-emissions combustion, Jenni worked as the lead post-doctoral researcher on a European Commission project for a year. She received an industrial research sponsorship from the Rolls-Royce University Gas Turbine partnership.

RAEng Young Engineer of the Year Award 2017 - news release


Dr Sithamparanathan Sabesan

Chief Executive Officer, PervasID

Since graduating with a degree in electronic engineering from Sheffield University, Dr Sabesan has excelled in both his scholarly work at the University of Cambridge, and his work as a technology entrepreneur through co-founding PervasID, a University of Cambridge spin-out company.

Dr Ben Britton

Lecturer, Department of Materials, Imperial College London

Ben completed his DPhil at the University of Oxford in 2010 researching titanium for aerospace applications. In 2012, he joined the Department of Materials at Imperial College London as a Nuclear Metallurgy Fellow.

Dr Paul Shearing

Senior Lecturer in Chemical Engineering, University College London

Paul joined UCL in 2011 where he is now a Senior Lecturer in Chemical Engineering and a Royal Academy of Engineering Research Fellow and is internationally recognised as a researcher in the application of X-ray imaging to explore energy materials.

John Collins

Senior Engineer, Arup

As one of the youngest top suspension bridge engineers in the country, John has applied his expertise to high profile and challenging projects including the Humber Bridge, Forth Road Bridge and the London 2012 Olympic Park. He obtained a MEng (Hons) from Durham University and joined Arup in 2007, becoming a Chartered Engineer just three years after graduating.

Orla Murphy

Acoustic and Audio Engineer, Jaguar Land Rover

Orla graduated with an MEng degree in Electronics with Music from the University of Glasgow in 2013. She first joined Jaguar Land Rover as a sponsored student in the Audio Team in 2012 and later returned as a graduate after completing her degree. During her time at the company, she has been an active and vocal advocate for STEM and for women in engineering.

RAEng Young Engineer of the Year Award 2016 - news release