​Nominations are currently closed.

All nominations are made via our online system: 

Online nominations system

With the generous support of the Worshipful Company of Engineers, the Academy is making five awards of £3,000 each year to UK* engineers in full-time higher education, research or industrial employment, who have demonstrated excellence in the early stage of their career (defined as less than ten years since graduation from their first degree in engineering or equivalent qualification on the day of the submission deadline).

From these five awardees, the Academy’s Awards Committee will select an overall winner who, in addition to their cash award, will receive the Academy’s highly acclaimed Sir George Macfarlane Medal.

There is no restriction on the discipline base of the individual nominated.

*By ‘UK’ we mean engineers who are either UK citizens or working in the UK for a period of not less than three years immediately before the year of awarding the prize.

2018 winners announced

Press release: Five young engineers win top Academy Awards



Khouloud El Hakim

Project Manager, High Speed 1 Route Renewal Study

Bechtel engineer Khouloud El Hakim is currently Project Manager leading the development of a 40-year renewal plan for High Speed 1, a strategy that involves the complex balance of carrying out renewals on an operational rail system without disrupting local and international train services.Prior to this, Khouloud was the Project Engineer on Crossrail’s Farringdon Station, managing design and construction assurance for the station’s redevelopment in preparation for the Elizabeth Line’s launch later this year.

Chetan Kotur

Executive Assistant to CEO, Polestar

Chetan is currently working at the forefront of the automotive industry as the CEO’s Assistant at Polestar, a Volvo electric car startup that he helped launch at the end of 2017 in Shanghai. Following his passion for cars, Chetan uniquely combines creative flair, design skills and deep engineering understanding. He is rapidly emerging as a bright, dynamic and driven future leader in the automotive industry.

Dr Christopher Donaghy- Spargo

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering, Durham University

Dr Christopher Donaghy-Spargo is Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering and Deputy Research Director for Future Energy Systems at Durham University. He is the author of over 25 peer-reviewed technical articles, with his first journal paper published while he was an undergraduate student – a rare achievement. During his PhD investigating high-efficiency motor technologies for industry, Dr Donaghy-Spargo won a number of prestigious awards, including the Sir Henry Royce Medal for Young Professionals from the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).

Dr Robert Hoye

Thomas Neville Junior Research Fellow, University of Cambridge

Dr Robert Hoye is a Junior Research Fellow at the University of Cambridge, working on the development of new materials for use in the production of clean energy. Dr Hoye has demonstrated outstanding creativity in finding unique ways to address the pressing challenge of clean energy, developing the materials and tools needed to create commercially viable and efficient devices.obert graduated in 2015 with a PhD in material science from the University of Cambridge, having been awarded the Jackman prize for best thesis.

Simon Bowcock

Corrosion Engineer, BP

Simon is a Lead Materials & Corrosion Engineer for BP Exploration, working for the Angola region. Having worked with BP for over seven years, he successfully led a team of engineers from disparate disciplines to land a challenging and innovative qualification process for flowlines exposed to environments containing hydrogen sulphide, referred to as ‘sour service’. Simon’s leadership ensured that the correct decisions were made to deliver a safe and reliable solution that fully integrated different aspects of process, mechanical, pipeline, materials and corrosion engineering.