The award recognises the contribution of a team of up to five engineers, based in the UK, who have delivered a major engineering project that has had a substantial impact on society.


Nominations are now closed.

All nominations are made via our online system:

Online nominations system



The Ordsall Chord

Iain Chalker (Amey/Network Rail), Francisco Cortes Ortega (WSP), John Dougan (Network Rail), Brian Duguid (AECOM Mott MacDonald JV) and Mike Pedley (Skanska BAMJV)

The engineers behind The Ordsall Chord, a new railway line connecting Manchester’s Piccadilly, Victoria and Oxford Road stations for the first time, are the recipients of Royal Academy of Engineering’s Major Project Award for 2018 in recognition of the collaboration, skill and engineering flair necessary to deliver such a complex, multidisciplinary feat of railway engineering.

Major Project Award 2018 - news release