With the generous support of the Worshipful Company of Engineers, the Academy is making five awards of £3,000 each year to UK* engineers in full-time higher education, research or industrial employment, who have demonstrated excellence in the early stage of their career (defined as less than ten years since graduation from their first degree in engineering or equivalent qualification on the day of the submission deadline).

From these five awardees, the Academy’s Awards Committee will select an overall winner who, in addition to their cash award, will receive the Academy’s highly acclaimed Sir George Macfarlane Medal.

There is no restriction on the discipline base of the individual nominated.

*By ‘UK’ we mean engineers who are either UK citizens or working in the UK for a period of not less than three years immediately before the year of awarding the prize.

2018 winners announced

Press release: Five young engineers win top Academy Awards



Dr Ruth Misener

Senior Lecturer in Computational Optimisation, Imperial College London

Anna Ploszajski

Materials scientist, engineer and communicator, UCL

Chris Shaw

Lead Engineer, Sensible Object

Frank O'Leary

Geotechnical engineer, Arup

Jenni Sidey

CSA Astronaut, Canadian Space Agency