This award is presented to the overall winner of the RAEng Engineers Trust Young Engineer of the Year award. It recognises the potential of engineers working in the UK who have demonstrated excellence in the early stage of their career (less than ten years since graduation from a first degree in engineering).

2018 winner announced

Bechtel engineer Khouloud El Hakim is currently Project Manager leading the development of a 40-year renewal plan for High Speed 1, a strategy that involves the complex balance of carrying out renewals on an operational rail system without disrupting local and international train services. Prior to this, Khouloud was the Project Engineer on Crossrail’s Farringdon Station, managing design and construction assurance for the station’s redevelopment in preparation for the Elizabeth Line’s launch later this year.

Khouloud El Hakin was announced as the winner of the 2018 Sir George Macfarlade Medal, along with the other winners of the RAEng Engineers Trust Young Engineer of the Year Award, in June 2018.

Press release: Five young engineers win top Academy Awards



Dr Ruth Misener

Dr Ruth Misener is currently a lecturer and Royal Academy of Engineering Research Fellow in the Department of Computing at Imperial College London. A chemical engineer by training, Ruth uses her computing-based position to develop innovative approaches to process systems engineering challenges using the latest computer science techniques.

This has attracted attention from industrial partners, and two petrochemical companies and one informatics company now have strategic partnerships with Ruth’s research group.


Dr Sithamparanathan Sabesan

Dr Sithamparanathan Sabesan, PervasID has won the Sir George Macfarlane Medal for the PervasID system, which uses battery-free radio frequency identification (RFID) tags to enable accurate tracking of luggage and merchandise over large areas. Winner of the Sir George Macfarlane Medal.


Dr Matthew Cole

Oppenheimer Research Fellow at the Centre for Advanced Photonics and Electronics, University of Cambridge

Dr Matthew Cole received the Sir George Macfarlane Medal for his work in nanoscale materials science.


Eur Ing Mark Wallace CEng

Engineering Project Manager, Wabtec Rail Limited

Recognised for his role in managing complex engineering design projects, as well as his flair and dedication to promoting careers in the rail industry.


Dr Michael Porton

Technology Programme Manager, Culham Centre for Fusion Energy (CCFE)

Recognised for his development of safety and meaterials technology that is key to the international effort to harness nuclear fusion, the power source of the sun, on earth.