The medal is awarded to a Fellow of the Academy who has contributed significantly to the Academy's aims and work through their initiative in promoting excellence in engineering.



Ian Shott CBE FREng

Ian Shott CBE FREng has been awarded the presidents medal in recognition of his many contributions to the work of the Academy, which have culminated in the creation of the Enterprise Hub – a community for entrepreneurial engineers that provides mentoring, funding and support to some of the nation’s most promising innovators.


Dr Ian Nussey OBE FREng

Commended for his extraordinary record in nominating talented engineers to the Royal Academy of Engineering, Dr Ian Nussey OBE FREng has been awarded one of the Academy’s highest accolades, the President’s Medal. He received the medal from Academy President Professor Dame Ann Dowling OM DBE FREng FRS at the Academy’s 40th anniversary AGM in London on Thursday 8 September.


Sir Richard Olver FREng

Sir Richard Olver FREng, former Chairman of BAE Systems, has been awarded the President's Medal for his outstanding achievements in technology development and for business leadership in the field of petroleum exploration and extraction and exceptional contributions to the Academy's work, particularly in engineering education.