Awarded to an individual or team of up to six engineers either working or studying in the UK. It will be awarded for having made the greatest contribution to the advancement of any field of engineering within the period of the four years prior to the making of the award. A cash prize of £3,000 will be awarded to an individual, up to a maximum of £6,000 for a team.

The Colin Campbell Mitchell Award commemorates the life and work of one of Scotland's most accomplished marine engineers. Edinburgh-born Colin Campbell Mitchell OBE FRSE (1904-69) had a long and distinguished career with Brown Brothers Engineering, where he pioneered the development of the steam catapult for use on aircraft carriers.

Read more about our past winners below:

2017 Colin Campbell Mitchell Award news release

2016 Colin Campbell Mitchell Award news release

2015 Colin Campbell Mitchell Award news release

2014 Colin Campbell Mitchell Award news release



Oxehealth Ltd

Oxehealth Ltd

The Oxehealth team have been awarded the 2017 Royal Academy of Engineering Colin Campbell Award for their development in World-leading non-contact health monitoring technology.



The 2016 Royal Academy of Engineering Colin Campbell Mitchell Award has been rewarded to three researchers from Bristol-based start-up Ultrahaptics for their achievements in bringing virtual reality to life and revolutionising the way people can interact with technology.


University College London's Optical Networks Group

Professor Polina Bayvel FREng, Dr Lidia Galdino, Dr Robert Killey, Dr Robert Maher, Dr Seb Savory and Dr Benn Thomsen.

Awarded for their pioneering contributions to optical communications technology. One of the world’s foremost research teams in this area, the ONG has made revolutionary strides towards maximizing the capacity of fibre optic communication networks, key to successfully transmitting ever-increasing quantities of information over both long- and short-distances.


Ford's 1.0 litre EcoBoost engine

Dr Roland Ernst, Dominic Evans, Steve Johnson, James Saward, Dr Mark Cary and Mike Rowland

The British team behind the development of Ford’s internationally commended, low fuel consumption 1.0 litre EcoBoost engine has been awarded the inaugural Colin Campbell Mitchell Award.