The Academy is bound by the Equality Act 2010. The Royal Academy of Engineering is committed to diversity and welcome applications from women and other groups who are currently under-represented across engineering.

  • The suggested project should clearly align with the overall aims and objectives of the scheme; however, original ideas and local solutions are actively encouraged.  
  • Project activities must include a budget of up to £140,000 delivered over a maximum of two years.
  • Project activities must run between March 2017 and March 2019.
  • Applicants must be a University in sub-Saharan Africa* and must not be currently receiving funding from the Royal Academy of Engineering.
  • The University must propose a means of collaboration with at least one partner based in the UK. A partner may also be considered as the UK institution if it is headquartered in the UK.
  • The Academy encourages applicants to use a Hub and Spoke model which links the lead applicant University to other, Spoke Universities nationally and regionally to engage them in the project and share lessons.
  • The lead applicant will be a University in sub-Saharan Africa and must propose a means of collaboration with at least one industry partner, one UK institution (academic or industry) and at least three Spoke Universities nationally or regionally.
  • The University must complete a minimum amount of activities as set out below:
  • One workshop per year
  • Must complete at least one industry and one university secondment
  • Engage at least one industry partner per year
  • Engage at least one UK partner per year
  • Must engage at least three spoke universities per year

*For the purposes of the programme, the Academy considers the following 49 countries to be part of sub-Saharan Africa:

Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.