The Higher Education Partnerships in sub-Saharan Africa Programme (HEPSSA) – supported by the Anglo American Group Foundation and the UK Government through the Global Challenges Research Fund – was established by the Royal Academy of Engineering in 2016, following the successful pilot scheme, Enriching Engineering Education Programme.

By forming and strengthening relationships between academia and industry, the programme aims to ensure that the higher education system in sub-Saharan Africa produces engineers with the skills and knowledge required to meet the needs of industry, tackle local challenges, address the engineering skills shortage in sub-Saharan Africa, and to showcase engineering’s role in driving economic development in the region.

To maximise the impact of this collaboration, the programme is implemented through a ‘hub and spoke’ model. The Hub universities are funded to undertake bilateral secondments with local industry partners, and in turn, share their experiences with a larger number of Spoke universities through a series of knowledge sharing workshops and reports. 


The Royal Academy of Engineering is currently funding 9 Hub Universities, supporting 62 Spoke Universities across 16 countries in sub-Saharan Africa:

  • University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
  • University of Botswana
  • Moi University, Kenya
  • Makerere University, Uganda
  • National University of Science & Technology, Zimbabwe
  • University of Namibia
  • University of Zambia
  • University of Port Harcourt, Nigeria
  • University of Malawi, The Polytechnic

Enriching Engineering Education in sub-Saharan Africa