The role of the committee is to provide strategic direction for external affairs activities on behalf of the Trustee Board. It oversees all aspects of the Academy’s communications, public affairs and engagement activities and events programme, ensuring they are delivered in line with Royal Charter and business plan commitments.


  • Professor Mark Miodownik MBE FREng

Members (Fellows)

  • Professor Tony Cohn FREng
  • Professor Mischa Dohler FREng
  • Professor Dame Pratibha Gai DBE FREng FRS
  • Professor David Howard FREng
  • Professor Geoffrey Maitland FREng
  • Michelle McDowell MBE FREng
  • Professor Anthony Finkelstein CBE FREng
  • Professor Sir Saeed Zahedi OBE RDI FREng

Ex officio Members

  • Dr Scott Steedman CBE FREng (Editor-in-Chief of Ingenia)

Members (Non-Fellows)

  • John Gardner
  • Roger Highfield
  • Kelly Oakes

Committee secretariat

  • Jane Sutton