The purpose of the Research Committee is, on behalf of the Trustee Board, to provide strategic oversight and leadership of the Academy’s UK-based research programmes and research policy activity.


Professor Sir James McDonald FREng FRSE


Dr Alan Begg FREng

Dr Jeremy Burroughes FREng FRS

David Eyton FREng

Professor Karen Holford FREng FLSW

Professor Mike Hounslow FREng

Professor Jeff Magee FREng

Professor Mark Sandler FREng

Professor Hywel Thomas FREng FRS FLSW

Professor Ann Trefethen FREng

Professor Robert Wood FREng


Professor Stephen Williamson FREng (Research Chairs)

Professor Neil Alford MBE FREng (Research Fellowships)

Professor Elaine Martin OBE FREng (Industrial Secondments)

Professor William Milne FREng (Leverhulme)

Committee Secretariat    

Dr Christina Guindy