Skip to page content


Sir Frank Whittle Medal

The medal is awarded to an engineer resident in the UK whose sustained achievements have had a profound impact upon their engineering discipline.

Nominations for the 2014 prize are now closed. The winner(s) will be announced in 2014.



Photo of Professor Lin Li FREngProfessor Lin Li FREng, Head of the Manufacturing Research Group and Director of the Laser Processing Research Centre, The University of Manchester

Awarded for his outstanding and sustained research achievements for engineering innovations in manufacturing that have directly benefitted the UK economy.

[2013 News Release]


Photo of Dan ChambersDan Chambers, Co-founder and Director of Draft Wheelchairs Ltd

Dan Chambers was awarded the medal for his 15 years' experience of product design, innovation and manufacture of specialised sports equipment such as racing wheelchairs and hand-cycles built to suit each elite athlete's unique physical needs.

[2012 News Release]


Photo of Professor Sir Richard Feachem KBE CBE FREngProfessor Sir Richard Feachem KBE CBE FREng

Sir Richard was awarded the 2010 medal for his engineering-based approach to managing aid and controlling some of the most virulent diseases.

[2010 News Release]


Photo of Professor Sir Michael Brady FREngProfessor Sir Michael Brady FREng FRS

Sir Michael won this medal for his contributions to medical analysis and in particular for taking theoretical inputs through to clinical applications and to successful commercial exploitation.

[2009 News Release]


Photo of Arup Director Mike Glover FREng, picture taken by Thomas GrahamPeter Head OBE FREng

Arup Director Peter Head has been awarded the Sir Frank Whittle Medal for his efforts to deliver an environmentally sustainable built environment in a rapidly urbanising world.

[2008 News Release]


Photo of Arup Director Mike Glover FREng, picture taken by Thomas Graham

Mike Glover FREng

Arup Director Mike Glover has won this year’s prestigious Royal Academy of Engineering Sir Frank Whittle Medal for his achievement in the planning, design and construction of the Channel Tunnel Rail Link Project (CTRL).

[2007 News Release]


Michael Ramsay

Michael Ramsay

Michael Ramsay pioneered the TiVo technology that is changing the world of home entertainment - the culmination of a lifetime of innovation in computer graphics, workstations and consumer software technologies.

[2006 News Release]


Peter John Lawrenson

Peter John Lawrenson, Emeritus Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering, University of Leeds has won this year's prestigious Royal Academy of Engineering Sir Frank Whittle Medal.

[2005 News Release]


Professor Ian Young with his medal

Professor Ian Young, OBE, FREng, FRS

Professor Young, one of the pioneers of the diagnostic engineering technology Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), has won this year’s prestigious Royal Academy of Engineering Sir Frank Whittle Medal.

[2004 News Release]


Professor Roland with his medal

Professor Roland Clift OBE FREng
Distinguished Professor of Environmental Technology and Director, Centre for Environmental Strategy, University of Surrey

'for his leading role in developing the holistic life cycle assessment of products - cradle to grave analysis - and the recognition of environmental and social issues.'

[2003 News Release]


Professor John Ffowcs Williams with his medal

Professor John Ffowcs Williams FREng
Rank Professor of Engineering (Acoustics)
University of Cambridge

‘for contributions to the foundations and applications of Aeroacoustics, which have enabled dramatic reductions in the noise of aircraft and submarines’.

[2002 News Release]


Tim Berners-Lee

Professor Tim Berners-Lee OBE FREng FRS
3Com Founders
Professor, MIT
Director, World Wide Web Consortium

‘for creating the World Wide Web, which in just ten years has connected millions of people all over the world, enabling them to work together, trade and manage information in real time’.

[2001 News Release]



Picture of Sir Frank Whittle Medal

[top of the page]