Skip to page content


Picture of MacRobert Award medalMacRobert Award

The premier award for UK innovation in engineering

Applications for the 2014 award are now closed.

View the 2014 MacRobert Award brochure (1279KB) Adobe PDF document icon

About the award

The Award, first presented in 1969, honours the winning organisation with a gold medal, and each of the individual nominees with a bronze medal. There is, in addition, a cash prize of 50,000. This is normally shared equally between the individual nominees; however, the Academy will in exceptional cases consider alternative proposals for how the cash prize should be allocated. The presentation of the Award recognises the successful development of innovative ideas in engineering. It seeks to demonstrate the importance of engineering and the role of engineers and scientists in contributing to national prosperity and international prestige.

Originally founded by the MacRobert Trusts the Award is now presented by The Royal Academy of Engineering, a prize fund having been established with donations from the MacRobert Trusts, The Royal Academy of Engineering and British industry.


Skip to page footer


[top of the page]