These chairs offer an opportunity to dedicate 10 years to researching innovative and unproven technologies, thereby establishing the UK, and indeed the researcher, as leaders in these fields. 

By definition, such technologies are immature and unlikely to be at stage where industry would consider supporting projects as return on investment will be far off. Greater levels of support are required than with more typical research projects for the technology to progress. In response to this need, the Academy fully funds Research Chairs for a 10-year period. This gives initiatives the support and time needed to develop the technology so that industry will become involved in its continued development.

The Chair will be expected to create a research team and achieve international recognition as the leading research group in their field. The ultimate measure of success will be whether the team is self-sufficient by the end of the 10 years, and whether other research organisations recognise the importance of the field and have started their own research.

The scheme is not currently open to new applications.

Current appointments

Professor Jeremy O’Brien

RAEng Research Chair in Emerging Technologies (2013 - 2023) University of Bristol

Photonic Quantum ICT

Professor Jeremy O'Brien's website

Professor Anne Neville FREng FRSE FIMechE

RAEng Research Chair in Emerging Technologies (2009 - 2019) University of Leeds

Bioinspiration for Functional Surface Design

Professor Anne Neville's website

For any queries, please email the Research team.