The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering (QEPrize) is an international, £1 million engineering prize that rewards and celebrates the engineers responsible for a ground-breaking innovation that has been of global benefit to humanity. The objective of the QEPrize is to raise the public profile of engineering and to inspire young people to become engineers.

The inaugural QEPrize was awarded to the five engineers who created the Internet and the World Wide Web: Robert Kahn, Vinton Cerf, Louis Pouzin, Tim Berners-Lee FREng and Marc Andreessen. Together, these engineers have made seminal contributions to the architecture of the Internet and Web. They have revolutionised the way we communicate and enabled the creation of whole new industries. The first QEPrize was presented by Her Majesty The Queen at Buckingham Palace in June 2013. 

Lord Broers FREng, Chair of the Judging Panel for the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering, says: "Engineering is, by its very nature, a collaborative activity and the emergence of the internet and the Web involved many teams of people all over the world. However, these five visionary engineers, never before honoured together as a group, led the key developments that shaped the Internet and Web as a coherent system and brought them into public use.

"We had originally planned to award this prize to a team of up to three people. It became apparent during our deliberations that we would have to exceed this limit for such an exceptional group of engineers."

Nominations have now closed for the second prize and judging is underway. The winner will be announced in January 2015.

The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering Foundation has overall responsibility for the prize and the board of trustees is chaired by Lord Browne of Madingley. The day-to-day running of the prize is managed by the Queen Elizabeth Prize team at the Royal Academy of Engineering.

The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering is funded by an endowment which has been established with support from the following generous corporate donors: BAE Systems, BG Group, BP, GSK, Jaguar Land Rover, National Grid, Nissan, Shell UK Ltd, Siemens UK, Sony, Tata Consultancy Services, Tata Steel Europe and Toshiba.

Queen Elizabeth Prize for engineering website