The medal is awarded to an engineer normally resident in the UK whose sustained achievements have had a profound impact upon their engineering discipline. (Previously known as the Sustained Achievement Award).

Nominations for the 2017 Medal are now closed.  The winner will be announced later on this year.



Professor Roger Sargent FREng

Roger Sargent FREng, Emeritus Professor and Senior Research Fellow at Imperial College London and former director of its Centre for Process Systems Engineering, has spent his career of over 60 years championing the application of mathematics and computing to solve engineering problems in the process industries. He received the Sir Frank Whittle Medal for outstanding and sustained achievement 40 years since the inaugural meeting of the Academy of which he was a founding Fellow.


Professor Peter Clarricoats CBE FREng FRS

Emeritus Research Professor, School of Electronic and Computer Science, Queen Mary, University of London

Internationally renowned British microwave engineer Professor Peter Clarricoats has been awarded one of the Royal Academy of Engineering’s highest accolades for his influential achievements spanning more than half a century.