With the generous support of the Worshipful Company of Engineers, the Academy is making five awards of £3,000 each year to UK* engineers in full time higher education, research or industrial employment, who have demonstrated excellence in the early stage of their career (defined as less than ten years since graduation from their first degree in engineering or equivalent qualification).

From these five awardees, the Academy’s Awards Committee will select an overall winner who, in addition to his / her cash award, will receive the Academy’s highly acclaimed Sir George Macfarlane Medal.

There is no restriction on the discipline base of the individual nominated.

*By ‘UK’ we mean engineers who are either UK citizens or working in the UK for a period of not less than three years immediately before the year of awarding the prize.

Nominations for the 2017 award are now closed.  The winners will be announced later on this year.


2016 winners:

The 2016 RAEng Engineers Trust Young Engineers of the Year, including the Sir George Macfarlane Medal winner
Dr Sithamparanathan Sabesan, PervasID -  winner of the 2016 Sir George Macfarlane Medal
Dr T Ben Britton, Imperial College London 
John Collins, Arup
Orla Murphy, Jaguar Land Rover 
Dr Paul Shearing, University College London