The medal is awarded to an engineer resident in the UK whose achievements have had a profound impact upon their engineering discipline. (Previously known as the Sustained Achievement Award).

Nominations for the 2015 Medal will open in January.


2013 Sir Frank Whittle Medal news release



Professor Peter Wells CBE FREng FRS FMedSci FLSW MAE

Distinguished Research Professor, School of Engineering, Cardiff University

Awarded for his outstanding achievements in medical engineering over six decades. He pioneered the development of ultrasonics as a diagnostic and surgical tool, which has revolutionised clinical practice.