The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering (QEPrize) is an international, £1 million engineering prize that rewards and celebrates the engineers responsible for a ground-breaking innovation that has been of global benefit to humanity. The objective of the QEPrize is to raise the public profile of engineering and to inspire young people to become engineers.

The groundbreaking chemical engineer Dr Robert Langer has been awarded the 2015 QEPrize for his revolutionary advances and leadership in engineering at the interface with chemistry and medicine.

Dr Langer was the first person to engineer polymers to control the delivery of large molecular weight drugs for the treatment of diseases such as cancer and mental illness. Over 2 billion lives have been improved worldwide by the technologies that Dr Langer’s lab has created.

Infographic: Controlled-release large molecule drug delivery explained

Professor Lord Broers FREng FRS, Chair of Judges for the QEPrize, said:  “Robert Langer has made an immense contribution to healthcare and to numerous other fields by applying engineering systems thinking to biochemical problems. Not only has he revolutionised drug delivery, but his open-minded approach to innovation and his ability to think ‘outside the box’ have led to great advances in the field of tissue engineering. He is a truly inspiring leader who has attracted brilliant people to these relatively new and exciting areas of research and is extremely involved in the commercial development of his group’s research."

The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering Foundation has overall responsibility for the prize and the board of trustees is chaired by Lord Browne of Madingley. The day-to-day running of the prize is managed by the Queen Elizabeth Prize team at the Royal Academy of Engineering.

The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering is funded by an endowment which has been established with support from the following generous corporate donors: BAE Systems, BG Group, BP, GSK, Hitachi Ltd, Jaguar Land Rover, National Grid, Nissan Motor Corporation, Shell UK Ltd, Siemens UK, Sony, Tata Consultancy Services, Tata Steel Europe and Toshiba.

Queen Elizabeth Prize for engineering website