Skip to page content


The Fellowship

The Academy honours the UK's most distinguished engineers. It aims to take advantage of the enormous wealth of engineering knowledge they possess and, through the interdisciplinary character of its membership, it provides a unique breadth of engineering experience to further the art and practice of engineering in all its forms.

Election to The Academy is by invitation only; up to 60 Fellows are elected each year from nominations made by existing Fellows. They are distinguished by the title 'Fellow of The Royal Academy of Engineering' and the designatory letters 'FREng'. Honorary Fellows and Foreign Members who have made exceptional contributions to engineering are also elected.

HRH The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh is our Senior Fellow. HRH The Princess Royal and HRH The Duke of Kent are Royal Fellows.

Sir John Parker FREng is the President of the Academy

An elected Council directs Academy activities through seven standing committees. The Membership Committee is further subdivided into four panels representing the various disciplines of engineering.


Skip to page footer


[top of the page]