Skip to page content


The Fellowship

Council and Committees: Engineering Policy Committee

The role of the Committee is to advise and be responsible to Council for the engineering policy of The Academy and for all matters concerned with the application of engineering knowledge and principles other than education and training. In pursuit of this role it identifies, monitors, and promotes attention to emerging and generic issues of importance to engineering.

The Committee:

  • Instigates multi or single-disciplinary studies and reports on significant engineering issues

  • Proactively develops and promotes policy statements of value to external audiences

  • Supervises the preparation & promotion of responses to Parliament and others

  • Supports and encourages research and secondment activities through the award of funds

  • Maintains a constructive dialogue with the UK research councils.

The Committee also supports initiatives of a multi-disciplinary nature along with other bodies: helps determine The Academy’s programme of lectures and events: and where appropriate establishes a portfolio of work with Government agencies and departments.

Chair Professor Richard Parry-Jones CBE FREng
Members Dr P W Bonfield OBE FREng
Professor P S Cannon FREng
Professor P J Clarkson FREng
Professor B S Collins CB FREng
Mr L Dopping-Hepenstal FREng
Professor G N Gilbert FREng
Professor J W Hall FREng
Mr R H Maudslay CBE FREng
Professor M J Norton FREng
Professor A H Sherry FREng
Dr M Short CBE FREng
Dr L M Smith FREng
Professor J D McK Watson CBE FREng
Mr N P Winser FREng 
  Ex Officio Professor L Tarrassenko CBE FREng
Committee Secretariat Dr Alan Walker


Skip to page footer


[top of the page]