The role of the committee is to provide strategic direction for external affairs activities on behalf of the Trustee Board. It oversees all aspects of the Academy’s communications, public affairs and engagement activities and events programme, ensuring they are delivered in line with Royal Charter and business plan commitments.


Dame Judith Hackitt DBE FREng

Members (Fellows)

Professor Anthony Cohn FREng

Janice Crawford FREng

Professor Robin Grimes FREng

Professor Geoffrey Maitland FREng

Richard Maudslay CBE FREng

Michelle McDowell MBE FREng

Professor Saeed Zahedi OBE FREng

Professor Mark Miodownik (ex officio, Chair of Ingenious selection panel)

Dr Scott Steedman CBE FREng (ex officio, Chair of Ingenia)

Members (Non-Fellows)

Clive Cookson – Science Editor, Financial Times

John Gardner – Group Head of Government Relations, Babcock International

Dr Roger Highfield – Director of External Affairs, Science Museum Group

Kelly Oakes – Science Editor, BuzzFeed

Committee secretariat

Juniour Blake